Valentine’s Cinnamon Rolls

A while back, I made the Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls.  It didn’t come out like I wanted (didn’t have enough powdered sugar for the frosting).  So I’ve been looking for an excuse to make them again!

I decided to share the love for Valentine’s Day!  How appropriate, right?!!  Since I wanted to share with people at work, Hubby’s work, family friends, and also keep some for ourselves, I decided to make a double batch.  BOY, was that a huge undertaking, in my small kitchen, with little work space!!

Here’s my first try at documenting this kitchen adventure.  Sorry if my pictures may seem a little mismatched.  Since I did two batches (I don’t have big enough pots/bowls to do 2 batches at once), I used different bowls/pots to make the dough in.  I narrowed down the pictures, and chose the best ones.  Here they are!  For the actual recipe and tips, please check out Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls!  Here’s my rendition!

The very first thing that I did, was do the prep work, as in wash and dry all pans that I planned on putting my cinnamon rolls in.

Mix 1 quart of Whole Milk,

1 cup of Vegetable Oil,

and 1 cup of Sugar in a pot,

and scald (heat until just before the mixture boils).

Then turn off the heat and let the mixture cool for 45 minutes to 1 hour.  This would be a good time to go do some chores, read, search the web, etc.  Enjoy!  Have fun!

After the mixture has cooled to lukewarm (it is very important that it is NOT hot), sprinkle in 2 packages of Active Dry Yeast and let it sit for about 1 minute.Then add 8 cups of all-purpose flour and stir.  Yes, it does look a little gross, but it is TOTALLY worth it, for the end result is ONOLICIOUS!!Then comes more waiting!  But again, it’s all TOTALLY worth it for the end result!

Cover and let the dough rise for at least an hour.  I covered my bowls with plastic wrap.  Then, since I was doing this in the late night/early morning when it was cool, I put the bowl in my oven.  I learned a neat trick when I was learning to make focaccia!  To aid in the rising of the dough, turn just the oven light on (and NOT the actual oven).  This will provide just enough “heat” to provide a warm environment for the yeast to get all happy and do it’s thing!

Use this time to do the dishes (I’m a HUGE fan of doing dishes as you go.  Growing up, we did dishes after the fact.  I always hated having SO MANY dishes in the end to clean up!  So once I started cooking/baking, I just started to do the dishes as I went along.  I found that in the end, clean up wasn’t such a dreaded task anymore, for there wasn’t a HUGE pile of dishes!  YAY!!  I thank God for this revelation!!), read, catch up on TV, call a friend, etc.

This would also be a good time to melt the butter so that it has time to cool (yes, there is a TON of butter!  Hey, I did NOT say it was guilt free!!  It is TOTAL GUILT, and so DELISH because of it!!), and brew the coffee which is used for the icing.

After the dough has risen for at least an hour (a good indication is that the dough has doubled in size), add 1 more cup of flour,1 heaping teaspoon of Baking Powder,1 scant teaspoon of Baking Soda,and 1 heaping Tablespoon of salt.  Use your muscles, and stir this whole mixture together!Whew!!!  Prep work pau (done)!!  Now, on to the actual assembly of the cinnamon rolls!!  YAY!!!

Clean a big surface and generously sprinkle with flour.  I used our kitchen table, since I don’t have enough counter space.

Take half the dough and put it on your floured work surface.Form a rough rectangle and roll the dough thin.  While rolling out the dough, keep the dough in the rough rectangle shape.  Drizzle 1/2-1 cup of melted butter (yes, I know this sounds like a lot, but believe me, it adds to the deliciousness!) on the dough.  Then sprinkle 1 cup of sugar followed by a generous sprinkling of cinnamon.Starting at the opposite end, start to roll the dough toward you, keeping it relatively tight.Pinch the seam to seal the roll.  Yes, this is MESSY, and there should be enough butter, that it is oozing out!!

Spread about 1 tablespoon of melted butter in your pan.  Cut the rolls approximately 3/4-1 inch thick and lay them in the pan.

Repeat this process with the remaining half of the dough.  Then let the rolls rise for another 20-30 minutes (I usually let them rise a little longer, just enough to fill out the pan some).Bake the rolls at 375 degrees F until they are golden brown (about 15-18 minutes).  While the rolls are in the oven, make the frosting.

Combine 1 bag of Powdered Sugar (yes, as in the 32 oz bag), 2 teaspoons Maple Flavoring, 1/2 cup Milk, 1/4 cup Melted Butter, 1/4 cup Brewed Coffee, and 1/8 teaspoon Salt.Once the rolls are out of the oven, generously drizzle the icing over them. Let them cool, just a little, so that you don’t burn yourself!  ENJOY!!

1 Comment

Filed under Kitchen Adventures

One response to “Valentine’s Cinnamon Rolls

  1. keri

    this looks so good! makes me want to go and take pictures..and eat your cinnamon rolls. can you come visit and make some for us please, and your foccacia bread por favor?!?!?!

    I LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

