A Hui Hou!- Until We Meet Again!

It is with very mixed feelings that I write this post today.  There’s a heavy heart because our family lost a dear friend yesterday, as she went home to be with her Heavenly Father.  But also with rejoicing, for I know that I will see my fellow Sister in Christ, again!!

Our family met the lovely, kind, generous, humble, talented, beautiful, funny, & gentle  Debbie Weisgerber and her family when my parents moved in across the driveway from Debbie and her Husband, Dan.  Debbie is one that you are drawn to, and there is an instant bond/friendship that is formed!

Sadly, I didn’t get to really know her until she got critically sick.  After getting pregnant with their daughter Mackenzie, Debbie started having major complications with her heart.  Her faith amazed me, how through all the complications, she kept a smile on her face, and continued to praise God!  She was such an encouragement, and a Godly example.  Deb was deeply loved and cherished by those around her.

After being able to come home with their bundle of joy (Debbie was sent to Oahu during her pregnancy, and stayed in the hospital to be monitored), they attended a service at my parent’s house church (for those of you that don’t know, yes, I’m a PK!  Pastor’s Kid, and proud of it!).  It happened to be a Sunday that I was visiting and had decided to share an interpretive sign dance song.

I’m so thankful that I listened to the Holy Spirit’s leading, and shared that song, for it ministered to Debbie (“After the Rain,” by Aaron & Jeoffrey).  Now it was my turn to be an encourager to Debbie.  I never realized how much it ministered to her until a few years later.

As a thank you, she had been wanting to do something for me.  When she heard of my engagement to Dave, she offered to do a slide show for us.  Boy, was that a HUGE blessing!!  She did an AMAZING job!!!  It’s something that I’ll forever cherish!!

Edited to add:  This is Debbie’s second to last post on her Facebook wall (she posted it on Saturday).  Just thought I’d share it so that you can get a tiny glimpse of the wonderful person that she was: “Dear Lord, I come to You as humble as I know how. I confess my sins, those known and unknown. Lord, You know I am not perfect and I fall short every day of my life, but I want to take time out to say thank you for Your mercy. Thank you for my family, friends, roof over my head, food on my table, everything I have and trials that make me stronger.”

Debbie, thank you so much for RICHLY BLESSING my life!!  I am so thankful that I got to see you one last time on our recent visit to the Big Island!!  I can’t wait to see you again!!  Please be in prayer for Debbie’s husband Dan, their almost 5 year old daughter Mackenzie, and their family.  No one expected for her to leave us so soon, but am thankful and blessed that we had 5-6 more years with her!!

I’m embarrassed to say, but the following are the only pictures I have of her.  These were taken back in August of 2006.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

