Buyer Beware!! :(

WOW!!  I can’t believe that it’s been 1 week since I last blogged!  I’m so sorry!  Been busy with several things!!

My Dad came in last week Monday.  He’ll be an Interim Pastor at one of the local churches for the summer, while they try to find a Senior Pastor.  Before he officially started on Wednesday, June 1st, I spent as much time with him as possible.  It’s been a BLESSING to be able to spend quality time with him!!  Haven’t had that for a while!!

Then on Wednesday, a repair/tech guy came to work on our Incline Trainer.  This is the subject of my buyer beware!!  So, here’s a timeline:

Thursday, 3/31/2011: Bought NordicTrack X7i Incline Trainer from Sears

Thursday, 4/28/2011: Picked up NordicTrack Incline Trainer from Sears warehouse, and took it home and installed it.  At first, the WiFi hooked up to our Internet Wireless Network.  So I went to iFit’s website and created my account.  Then I went to log in on the incline trainer, and got error messages.  It wouldn’t connect to iFit.  I then checked for some trouble shooting tips online, and rebooted the machine as suggested.  After a few tries, it (WiFi) completely stopped working.  It wouldn’t even detect other neighboring networks in the area like it previously had.

Friday, 4/29/2011:  My Husband called customer service.  After trouble shooting, she decided that it was the WiFi that was bad in the console and would be sending us another one.  She asked for our street address since they couldn’t send it to our PO Box (UPS/FedEx?).  We gave it to her, and she said that we should receive it the next week.

Next week, 5/2-5/7/2011: After not receiving the new console, I started to make noise.  I had heard of people using social media like Facebook and Twitter to get a customer service’s attention.  So, that’s what I did.  Via Twitter, I finally got information that our new console was sent out on Monday, 5/2/2011 via USPS Parcel Post, which they claimed should take 7-10 business days!  WHAT???!!!  Parcel Post takes 4-6 WEEKS to get to Hawaii!!!  I told this to them (on Twitter), and all they (NordicTrack) told me, was that they were sorry it would take so long!!  WHAT???!!!  That is NOT acceptable!!  Especially since we spent a lot of money on it, it’s BRAND NEW, AND it’s still under Warranty (not to mention we bought the extended warranty)!!  Most companies aim to please the customer, and would send out an expedited shipment once they realized their error.  But NordicTrack?  NOPE!!  So I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt; I gave them the 7-10 business days.  But it never showed up.  That’s when I started making more noise.

Friday, 5/27/2011: To make a LONG story short, I got them to FINALLY expedite another shipment to me, and received it from UPS!  YAY for UPS!!  SO dependable!! 😀  Contacted the repair tech and we set up an appointment for him to do the new install on Wednesday, June 1.

So right now, the machine is in working order.  But there is NO WAY that I’d ever buy another piece of equipment from NordicTrack!!  But if you ever need to get their attention, try social media! 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Running

Leave a Reply

